Eamon

IMG_0001So this was a photo taken in a warehouse in Bushwick, Brooklyn that had eight partitions for different tenants. I was staying with a friend, Jon Takiff who was kind enough to let me stay for free for a bit. I liked the lighting by the window and with the gray coming through since it was the beginning of winter, I thought a good picture could be taken. The image is too dark to make out the features, but I kind of enjoyed that aspect of it. I had an idea to write a book about a gang I had only a couple months earlier found out about by reading old Brooklyn newspapers at http://fultonhistory.com. They were called the White Hand Gang and they literally were operating in the neighborhoods my grandparents and great-grandparents lived in. So, in taking

IMG_0151 this picture, I was sort of getting into character. I had no idea at the time that I would spend the next three years reading articles, pulling death certificates and police reports about the gang and that it would eventually turn into a trilogy called “Auld Irishtown” about the gang of Irish-Americans that still ruled the docks of Brooklyn after originally settling in the area after the Famine. Now I’ve hopefully got a publisher and things are moving along. Hope you enjoy this blog, this is the very first post!

Eamon

 

About eamonblog

I am Eamon Loingsigh, author of the Auld Irishtown trilogy. The first book in the trilogy is "Light of the Diddicoy," which was published by Three Rooms Press St. Patrick's Day, March 17, 2014. The second is "Exile on Bridge Street," also published by Three Rooms Press, due out October, 2016. This blog is mostly concerned with the books and the history of Brooklyn, the Irish-Americans and the gangs of Brooklyn and New York. I have also written lots of other stuff, namely two other books, the first called, "An Affair of Concoctions" and the book of poetry, "Love and Maladies." There are also articles sprinkled around the internet about anything from the anarchist movement of the Spanish Civil War to the French Symbolists of late 1800s Paris to the Irish Famine. With a degree in journalism and a passion for writing, there are lots of topics I have covered. To get in touch, send an email to: eamonloingsigh@gmail.com. Oh by the way, my last name is pronounced "Lynch." Eamon Loingsigh
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

