Press Release: Light of the Diddicoy To be Published

Press Release: Light of the Diddicoy To be Published

Well, it is finally official. A contract has been agreed upon and signed between myself and Three Rooms Press for the first book of the Auld Irishtown trilogy, Light of the Diddicoy.

I am very happy to announce that a new friendship/relationship has begun. Peter Carlaftes of Three Rooms Press and I have been speaking about Light of the Diddicoy for a few months now and we found that we both have a strong interest in publishing this Historical Novel that takes place in Brooklyn, New York from October 1915 to April 1916.

The release date is scheduled well in advance for anyone who is interested. We are shooting for St. Patrick’s Day, 2014. And we will certainly have a party! And it most certainly will take place in New York, the perfect setting for a perfectly relevant release date of a book about the Irish-American struggle in the “Big Onion,” as the Irish used to call it, but is better known today as the “Big Apple.”

Three Rooms Press is a New York City based publisher that is known for supporting local writers and poets and local topics as well Dada Poetry and has published work from the legendary Punk bassist Mike Watt of the Minutemen. I first watched Peter Carlaftes recite poetry at the Cornelia Street Cafe‘s Son of A Pony reading series in 2009. He had emotion as he read. I saw him yell, speak softly and even come close to tears on stage. After making my way through the poetry circuit in the city, there was much that I’d rather not have seen or listened to. But Peter jumped out at me.

I noticed he and Kat Georges, who hosted the Son of a Pony, were close and often sat next to each other at parties and poetry readings at other locations. I have since found out they are engaged. They seem perfect for each other because I have heard Kat recite poetry as well and she is equally as passionate and equally as brilliant.

photo-1In fact, Peter and Kat were present at this recording of me in early 2010 at a Manhattan recording studio… (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N4klSTQmsPs). After a few drinks, I finally got the guts to go up and talk to Peter (who himself had two beers in his grip) and attempted to start a conversation. He mentioned my Irish name and surname and told me about his growing up in the Bronx around a bunch of Irishers. When I started to speak, he noticed I had an American accent.

“You’re not Irish,” he said.

That kind of direct approach is exactly what I look for in people, particularly when it comes to getting feedback from my writing as it has always been my opinion that those who are concerned about hurting your feelings and give fraudulent compliments to avoid confrontation are the least likely to help a writer improve upon his/her work. As it has turned out, Peter’s feedback has been very helpful and together I feel we have a great opportunity.

For me, Three Rooms Press and Light of the Diddicoy is a perfect marriage. I am very proud to be associated with a publisher as gritty as Three Rooms Press. Dada Poetry, punk rock, NYC writers/poets and now… Eamon Loingsigh.

Don’t forget: St. Patrick’s Day, 2014!

Eamon

About eamonblog

I am Eamon Loingsigh, author of the Auld Irishtown trilogy. The first book in the trilogy is "Light of the Diddicoy," which was published by Three Rooms Press St. Patrick's Day, March 17, 2014. The second is "Exile on Bridge Street," also published by Three Rooms Press, due out October, 2016. This blog is mostly concerned with the books and the history of Brooklyn, the Irish-Americans and the gangs of Brooklyn and New York. I have also written lots of other stuff, namely two other books, the first called, "An Affair of Concoctions" and the book of poetry, "Love and Maladies." There are also articles sprinkled around the internet about anything from the anarchist movement of the Spanish Civil War to the French Symbolists of late 1800s Paris to the Irish Famine. With a degree in journalism and a passion for writing, there are lots of topics I have covered. To get in touch, send an email to: eamonloingsigh@gmail.com. Oh by the way, my last name is pronounced "Lynch." Eamon Loingsigh
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Press Release: Light of the Diddicoy To be Published

  1. Scott says:

    You’re right…this is HUGE news! Congratulations. I wanna be at that party! 😉

  2. eamonblog says:

    Thank you so much, I will certainly let you all know when and where the release party will take place.

Leave a Reply

